Comparing Freud’s Psychosexual Theory and Erik Erikson’s Psychosocial Theory

Psychoanalytic principle originated from work of Sigmund Freud. Freud’s principle additional impressed and expanded by others. Of these neo-Freudians, Erik Erikson’s concepts have turn into maybe the perfect identified.

Freud developed a principle that described growth by way of a sequence of 5 psychosexual levels. These levels are oral, anal, phallic, latency and genital phases. According to Freud, conflicts that happen throughout every of those levels can have a lifelong affect on character and behaviour. If these psychosexual levels accomplished efficiently, it resulted in a wholesome character. If sure points not resolved at acceptable stage, fixation can happen. Fixation is a persistent concentrate on an earlier psychosexual stage.

Erik Erikson, however, developed eight-stage principle of psychosocial growth which described development and change all through the lifespan, specializing in social interplay and conflicts that come up throughout totally different levels of growth.

Erik Erikson’s levels are as adopted:

Stage 1: “Trust versus Mistrust”. During this stage, a toddler is growing a way of belief with caregiver and failure on this stage results in distrust.

Stage 2: “Autonomy versus Shame”. This is the interval the place a toddler is growing a way of self-control and failure at reaching this results in disgrace and doubts.

Stage 3: “Initiative versus Guilt”. A toddler in his or her preschool is making an attempt to develop a way of 1’s personal drive and initiative. Failure to take action resulting in responsible emotions.

Stage 4: “Industry versus Inferiority”. This is a interval when a faculty going little one is growing a way of private means and competence.

Stage 5: “Identity versus Role confusion”. Young adolescent and younger maturity begins to develop a single unified idea of self, a way of private identification. Failure to realize this stage results in function confusion.

Stage 6: “Intimacy versus Isolation”. During this era, a younger grownup can be questioning the which means of 1’s relationship with others. Failure to do causes the person to endure emotions of isolation.

Stage 7: “Generativity versus Stagnation”. Mid-adult on this stage will has concern over whether or not one has contributed to the success of kids and future era. Failure to realize this stage results in private stagnation.

Stage 8: “Integrity versus Despair”. During this late maturity interval, one will begin to replicate on their lives and in addition to trying again with a way a fulfilment or bitterness. Failure to finish this stage causes despair.

There are some similarities between Sigmund Freud’s psychosexual principle and Erik Erikson’s psychosocial principle. Both had their very own theories on character growth. The theories are separated into levels of an individual’s life. Personality developed over time on account of interplay between kid’s inborn drive and response with the important thing particular person within the kid’s world. The kid’s character depends upon a hit in going via all levels.

In distinction to Freud, Erik Erikson positioned much less significance on particular person’s sexual drive as a think about regular growth. Erikson additionally positioned extra emphasis on cultural or environmental influences in his principle. Unlike Freud, Erikson proposed that an individual’s sense of identification was not fully developed throughout adolescents however as an alternative proceed to develop and evolve all through an individual’s life. Erikson additionally downplayed the significance of maturation in cognitive growth and as an alternative focuses on the significance of cultural calls for.

Spread the love
Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!